Posted by: Johnold Strey | July 7, 2008

LCMS C/W & CCM

Lutheranism tends to be a lot of alphabet soup, much like the title of this post. So let me translate.

  • LCMS = The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod
  • C/W = Commission on Worship
  • CCM = Christian contemporary music


And here is a recent article from the LCMS that is behind the title’s alphabet soup:

LCMS Approves 100 Worship & Praise Songs

When I have a moment, I may comment more on this. Those of you who know me well will probably be able to guess my coming comments’ content (hey, not bad alliteration at 7:00 in the morning!). An essay I wrote a few years ago, now posted on the WELS Commission on Worship website, offers some commentary on CCM with a few specific examples. An updated version of this essay will be published later this year; keep your eyes open for more details!

Proclaiming the Gospel in Worship

The pertinent quotations come from pages 17-20 in the version linked above. Go to the third major section, “Proclaiming the Gospel in Song,” under the subheading, “Text Issue: Emphases in Praise Songs.”

Categories

