Posted by: Johnold Strey | February 22, 2011

Call Received (St. Mark’s; Citrus Heights, CA)

On Sunday afternoon, February 20, 2011, I received a phone call from the president of St. Mark’s Lutheran Church in Citrus Heights, California (a suburb of Sacramento, about two hours east from our church and parsonage here in Belmont), informing me that I had been called by St. Mark’s to serve as an associate pastor.  St. Mark’s is a larger congregation served by three pastors, and it also has a Christian elementary school serving children in pre-Kindergarten through eighth grade.  In addition to the normal ministry tasks of a parish pastor’s call, the congregation is specifically asking that their new pastor to oversee the areas of worship and adult discipleship.

Just as I have done with the previous two calls I received (to St. Joseph, MI and Thiensville, WI), I will have a call discussion meeting with the members of Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, the congregation I presently serve.  Because we already have a voters’ meeting planned for this Sunday, and because there are no formal motions for the voters to consider this weekend, our chairman and I have agreed to turn this Sunday’s previously scheduled meeting into a call discussion meeting.  All members of Gloria Dei are invited to remain after Sunday’s service for the meeting.  I will inform the congregation about the specific requests in St. Mark’s call, and we will discuss the current ministry situation here at Gloria Dei.

I ask for your prayers during my deliberation in the next few weeks.  Below is my call acknowledgement letter to St. Mark’s.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Dear members of St. Mark’s Lutheran Church:

“Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.”  (Philippians 1:2)

On Sunday afternoon, February 20, I received a divine call from the voters of St. Mark’s Lutheran Church to serve as an associate pastor at St. Mark’s.  I am humbled to receive your call and grateful for the opportunity to consider how my gifts may best serve the kingdom of God.  In the next few weeks, I will be in communication with Pastors Waterstradt and Schmidt, as well as other leaders and called workers at St. Mark’s.  As I consider the two calls I now hold—both the call to serve God’s people at St. Mark’s and my present call to serve God’s people here at Gloria Dei—I respectfully ask for your prayers.  I will also keep you and your congregation in my prayers during this deliberation process.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever!  Amen.”  (Ephesians 3:20-21)

Blessings in Christ,

Pastor Johnold J. Strey 

Responses

  1. Has it already been 30 years? ……… No, sorry!

  2. Blessings as you deliberate!

  3. Blessings on your deliberations!

    Ben


Categories

