Posted by: Johnold Strey | September 2, 2011

100,000 and Counting

Now that the fall routine has begun, I hope to chime in on this blog a little more frequently than I have during spring and summer, when I was transitioning between calls and congregations.  Other, more pressing writing projects still take precedence over the blog, but I do hope to contribute here more often.

Despite my recent silence, there have been quite a few hits each day.  Most days over the past two weeks have seen over 100 hits, and a few days have had over 150 hits.  Thanks to everyone who stopped in to visit!

During August, the total number of hits since the start of this site crossed the 100,000 mark.  As I’ve done at other milestones, I’m listing the posts that have generated the most hits.  I’ve excluded hits to blog “pages” (e.g. Info & Bio, WELS, etc.) and separated sermons from other posts.  Here are the top posts from each category, with the number of hits as of this morning. 

Regular Posts (with 500+ hits):

Sermon Posts (with 1,000+ hits):

There are a couple of personal favorites that aren’t on these “top posts” lists.  I’ll share my picks from each category:

  • My favorite regular post so far has been Think You Don’t Like Ceremony? Think Again! (454 hits).  I am more and more convinced that ceremony and ritual are an integral part of everyday life (birthday parties, weddings, civic celebrations, football games, etc.).  The problem is that we are so familiar with these ceremonies that we hardly think of them as “ceremonies.”  Objections are sometimes raised when we use ceremony and ritual in Christian worship to express what is important for our faith, but the simple fact is that ceremony and ritual are all around us — and well received in familiar contexts.  This post used an inductive introduction to make that point.
  • My favorite sermon post to date has been the Sermon on 1 Corinthians 2:1-5 (635 hits).  I’ve frequently had discussions with friends and family members who judge a pastor’s preaching solely on whether or not he uses the Bible.  Obviously that’s an excellent starting point!  But if you don’t use the biblical text to point people to Christ and his salvation (i.e. the gospel), you have not strengthened their faith!  Several members of my former congregation stated that this sermon helped them understand what was wrong with many modern preachers; they could often sense when something was wrong or missing, but they couldn’t always put their finger on the problem because the message was “biblical.”  I preached this sermon again a few months ago when I filled in for a vacationing pastor while I was transitioning between my previous and current congregation; worshippers at that church responded in the same way.  I believe that this is an important issue and distinction for us to understand, since many concepts in worship and preaching today are touted as “biblical,” even though they are not necessarily centered in the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Thanks again for visiting!  I hope you’ll be back again soon!

Categories

