Posted by: Johnold Strey | June 17, 2016

Call Received (Crown of Life; Hubertus, WI)

On Sunday afternoon, June 12, 2016, I received a phone call from Pastor Mike Helwig of Crown of Life Lutheran Church in Hubertus, Wisconsin (a suburb located northwest of Milwaukee), notifying me that Crown of Life had extended a call to me to serve as one of their two pastors, with a particular focus on the congregation’s “inreach” ministry. Crown of Life is a growing congregation in a growing community, and they also operate a preschool and K-8 elementary school.

What follows below is the letter I have sent to Crown of Life congregation acknowledging receipt of their divine call. As I ask for their prayers in this letter, so I ask for my blog readers’ prayers as well during this deliberation process.

Friday, June 17, 2016

Dear members of Crown of Life Lutheran Church:

Greetings to you in the name of our risen and ascended Lord, Jesus Christ.

On Sunday, June 12, the voters of Crown of Life extended a divine call to me to serve as one of your two pastors. I am humbled and honored to have received this call to serve your congregation. Over the next few weeks, I will speak with Pastor Helwig, Principal Troge, and other leaders of Crown of Life to learn more about the ministry you carry out, and to consider where I can best use the abilities God has given me to serve in his kingdom—whether to continue my service here at St. Mark’s, or to begin a new chapter of my ministry among you.

The call deliberation process is a natural time for a pastor to evaluate his ministry. I ask for your prayers as I consider where I may best serve the Lord, and I will keep your congregation in my prayers during this deliberation process. Thank you in advance for your thoughts, prayers, and insights during the weeks ahead.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever! Amen.” (Ephesians 3:20-21)

Blessings in Christ,

Pastor Johnold J. Strey

Categories

